A-Level from 2015


New AS and A levels will be taught in schools in England from September 2015. The first results for the new AS levels will be in 2016, and for the A levels in 2017. Further subjects will be introduced over the following two years.

What new AS and A levels will look like

The main features of the new qualifications are:  Assessment will be mainly by exam, with other types of assessment used only where they are needed to test essential skills. AS and A levels will be assessed at the end of the course. AS assessments will typically take place after one year’s study and A levels after two. The courses will no longer be divided into modules and there will be no exams in January. AS and A levels will be decoupled – this means that AS results will no longer count towards an A level, in the way they do now. AS levels can be designed by exam boards to be taught alongside the first year of A levels. The content for the new A levels has been reviewed and updated. Universities played a greater role in this for the new qualifications than they did previously.


New AS and A level to be taught from:


First AS results will be issued in:

First A level results willbe issued in:


September 2015

Summer 2016

Summer 2017

English language 

English literature 

English language and literature 





computer science 



art and design 



September 2016

Summer 2017

Summer 2018


ancient languages 

modern foreign languages

(French, German, Spanish) 



physical education 

drama and theatre 

religious studies

September 2017

Summer 2018

Summer 2019


further maths 

design and technology 

Any other AS and A level subjects taught from this point will be new, with the current ones withdrawn.

  Exam boards will have to meet new rules for content and design when deciding which subjects to offer.